The messaging application sent in-app notifications to all its users informing them of the new privacy rules. The updated privacy policies and terms of service will be implemented on February 8. By then, users shall have to accept these conditions to continue using the messaging platform. Users who fail to comply will have to uninstall the messaging application.
According to the notification, the key updates include:
- WhatsApp’s service and how it processes user data
- How businesses can use Facebook hosted services to store and manage their WhatsApp chats and,
- How the company partners with Facebook, its parent company, to offer integrations across the Facebook Company Product.
The platform will also allow some additional features which are optional for users. As deemed appropriate by WhatsApp, the users will be updated about such a collection of their information. Those users who choose not to give the platform access to such additional information would not be able to use these optional features.
“Our Services have optional features which, if used by you, require us to collect additional information to provide such features. You will be notified of such a collection, as appropriate. If you choose not to provide the information needed to use a feature, you will be unable to use the feature. For example, you cannot share your location with your contacts if you do not permit us to collect your location data from your device. Permissions can be managed through your Settings menu on both Android and iOS devices,” the messaging app wrote.
WhatsApp also explained the data they collect through users’ activities including the users’ activity on WhatsApp, their service settings, their interactions with other WhatsApp users, the time and duration of their activities on WhatsApp, log files, as well as performance logs and reports.